February 18, 2004

Press Release No.132/04

NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS OF GHADC SWORN IN

Shillong, February 18, 2004: The newly-elected members of the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) was sworn in and duly inducted to the House today, February 18, 2004 at the Session Hall of the District Council. The Deputy Commissioner, West Garo Hills, Mr. S Jagannathan led the members in reading the oath of affirmation in the presence of public leaders, government officials, party workers and supporters.

Barring the two absentees namely, Wenison Ch. Marak from Rongrikimgre and Joshburdin A Sangma from Raksamgre GDC Constituency, all the elected members were present at the Swearing-In ceremony. After the induction of the members, the Deputy Commissioner informed that the House is to be convened on February 20, 2004 for election of the Chairman of the GHADC.

The names of the members who were inducted to the House are:- 1. Alphonse A Sangma, Siju 2. Milan M Sangma, Wagesik, 3. Larsen R. Sangma, Silkigre, 4. Panseng R. Marak, Gasuapara, 5. Apurba K. Marak, Barengapara, 6. Saleng A Sangma, Babelapara, 7. Kenethson R Sangma, Amengpara, 8. Rikseng A Sangma, Tura, 9. Roster B Sangma, Dengnakpara, 10. Binvichand Sangma, Boldamgre, 11. Metalson Sangma, Nogorpara, 12. Ranjit Modak, Zikzak, 13. Nripendro Koch, Betasing, 14. Ebelson A. Sangma, Rochonpara, 15. Jamidro Marak, Asanang, 16. Clement Marak, Balachanda, 17. Roynath Sangma, Batabari, 18. Aperson G . Momin, Shyamnagar, 19. Mrinal Marak, Nagaupara, 20. Purno K Sangma, Jengjal, 21. Silman K Sangma, Rongrong, 22. Brigady Marak, Bolsong, 23. Dolly K Sangma, Damas, 24. Rakesh R Marak, Kharkutta, 25. Haward N Sangma, Samanda, 26. Ashutosh Marak, Rongjeng and 27. Denang K. Sangma, Williamnagar.