Press Release No: 562/04

## DISTRICT LEVEL COMMITTEE HELD AT NONGPOH

**Shillong, September 2, 2004**: The District Level Committee, under the Chairmanship of the Deputy Commissioner, Ri Bhoi District, was held yesterday at the Circuit House, Nongpoh. The Committee, which was attended by MLAs and MDCs of the District, discussed matters relating to the implementation of different schemes, viz., NMBS, IACDP, CMYDS, etc.

After a threadbare discussion, the Committee suggested to extend the benefit of the BPL schemes to the genuine beneficiaries through proper inquiry and identification. Reviewing the implementation of IACDP, ISYDP and CMYDS, the Committee proposed that guidelines should be framed to modify the implementation of the schemes and since non-submission of utilization certificates was found to be one of the reasons that hindered the speedy implementation of such schemes, the Committee suggested that beneficiaries should be asked for timely submission of the same.

As for the CMYDS, the Committee suggested that the schemes be utilised for programmes like training, seminar, workshop, youth festival, youth counseling, etc., in order that employment be generated to the youth.

Press Release No: 563/04

## MEETING OF THE BHARAT SCOUTS AND GUIDES HELD

**Shillong, September 2, 2004**: The 10<sup>th</sup> State Council Meeting of the Bharat Scouts and Guides was held today at the Conference Hall of the Lumjingshai, MeSEB Complex, Shillong. Presided over by the Meghalaya Chief Secretary, Mr. P J Bazeley, who is also the president, the meeting was attended by the Regional Assistant Director of North East Region, Mr. R.K. Kaushik, vice-presidents, Mr. W.D. Jyrwa, Mrs. Quennie Rynjah, Mrs. B. Wason and other commissioners and members representatives from different District. The meeting discussed in details the ways and means to improve and develop the Bharat Scouts and Guides in the State.

In the meeting, new office bearers were also elected where Mr. P.J. Bazeley retains the post of president. For the post of vice-presidents, members elected were Mr. W.D. Jyrwa, Mr. K.M. Momin, Mrs. M.R. Mawlong, Mrs. B. Wason and Mrs. Judy Shullai. Mr. B. Dhar, Director, Higher and Technical Education, will be the State Chief Commissioner.